Trump introduces new travel ban

Hannah Gabel, Staff Writer


On Sept. 24 President Donald Trump released a new and recent announcement regarding his travel ban. As the original travel ban comes close to ending, Trump decided to extend the travel ban for several countries. Instead of having a set ending date, the ban will end via country cooperation regarding the situations in these countries. The new ban is expected to go into effect on Oct 18.

The new list now affects individuals from Somalia, Yemen, Syria, Libya, Iran, North Korea, Chad and Venezuela. While there are new countries being added to the list, Sudan was released from the initial ban by complying with United States guidelines. Iraq is also relieved from the ban, but Iraqis will face extra security and background checks. The travel ban only extends to members of the Venezuelan government and their families, rather than all citizens of Venezuela.

Anyone that has a current visa in the United States will not be affected by the ban. Students from Iran will still be allowed entry into the United States upon further screening. Individuals with business or tourist visas from Libya, Chad and Yemen will be barred. Along with that, this ban will bar immigration of people from Somalia. However, anyone from any of these countries can request a waiver from the ban, which will be issued depending on an individual basis.

Trump states that the intent of this ban is to provide protection for the country. Trump wrote the following statement on Twitter, “We will not admit those into our country we cannot safely vet.” The president is attempting to provide safer travel inside the country and to keep the citizens of America safe. The selection of this ban was based on the cooperation of these countries governments with the United States. The Guardian looked into the selection process and the countries that were willing to provide criminal history and background checks, terrorism information, and secure passports for their citizens that were deemed safe, and thus allowed their citizens to continue entering the country for whatever the purpose. However, the countries that refused to comply with the general security guidelines raised concern, putting them on the list of countries that are banned. One administrator declared that “those governments were simply not compliant with our basic security requirements.”

Currently, it is unknown if the administration intends to extend the ban to refugees once more as was the case with the first travel ban. They do expect to set a cap limit on the number of refugees admitted in the country for the upcoming year, though the number has still not been decided upon. There is no determining date on when this ban will be lifted as it is dependent on the cooperation from the listed countries and their governments, with the guidelines set forth by the U.S.


Tell us what you think

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s